House Sparrows

There is a family of cute little House Sparrows living in the guttering above my room. They are always hanging out and flitting about in the tree in my neighbours front garden. I thought it would be nice, for both me and the birds, if I got a bird feeder for them. I remembered seeing a bird feeder on a window of a house just a little way down the road from me, and thought it would cool if I could watch them eating from my room. I quickly ordered one, along with some wild bird seed.

A window bird feeder

Tryna buy some friends

House Sparrows have seen a recent population decline, of about 70% since the 70s. This is likely due to a decrease in available habitat and food sources, less people have gardens now and wildlife is feeling the pinch.

The feeder sticks to the window with one of those little suction things you get on bathroom products. I was apprehensive about it as I thought that they might not want to eat from a feeder so close to humans but they did not hesitate.

A male house sparrow using a window bird feeder

My pal

So, all in all, I am really glad I got the feeder. I wake up to the sound of  birds singing and seed falling down my window. I love watching them munching down the seed while I am doing my work. The little birds are so relaxing to watch!

I think it is important for people to do all they can to help wildlife, especially in urban areas. There are plenty of small changes you can make to help!


If you know of any other simple ways to give a helping hand to wildlife, let me know in the comments!

Jessica xx

| LinkedIn | Facebook | Pinterest |

A banner linking to this blog's post archive

One thought on “House Sparrows

Leave a comment